When life gives you lemons, make Lemon Bars

13 Jul

I thought we could all use a bit of a break from peanut butter, and the freshness of lemon is the perfect antidote to an overdose of rich, peanut butter chocolate treats.

But, I made some peanut butter granola bars today that will be making an appearance soon…and I have enough of that never-ending tub of expiring peanut butter for at least another recipe or two, so we’re not out of the woods yet.

For now, let’s focus on lemon freshness, and not the cleaning kind – I think my cleaning prowess was called into question today when I had this conversation with my 3-year-old:

Me: Time to clean up the toys.

G: Whhhyyyyyyy?

Me: I have to vacuum.

G: Who’s coming over?

Hmmm. 

I’d rather make my house smell like lemons in other ways.

Lemon bar ways.

Don’t make these unless you have fresh lemons – when you use 1/2 a cup of lemon juice, you will definitely notice if the lemon juice is not up to par.

So get fresh lemons (about 4) and make these. They’re a perfect combination of shortbread-y crust in equal amount with tart, creamy lemon. Perfect with tea, if you’re into that kind of thing. My mom is, and it’s her recipe, so I should mention the tea.  And thanks for letting me scam your recipes Mom, even if they do have pretty boring names :)

LEMON BARS

Crust:                                                                                                           

1 cup flour                                                                                                      

1/4 cup sugar                                                                                               

1/2 cup butter or margarine                                                                   

Topping:                                                                                                                    

1 cup sugar   

3 Tbsp flour

3 eggs

1 1/2 tsp grated lemon zest (1 lemon)                            

1/2 cup fresh lemon juice

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

For crust, combine flour and sugar, then cut in butter until mixture resembles coarse crumbs.  Press mixture into lightly greased 8″ square baking dish.  Bake for 15-20 minutes, until very light golden.

For topping, whisk sugar, flour, eggs and lemon zest in a small bowl just until smooth.  Pour over warm crust.  Bake 25-30 minutes longer, or until set.  Cool completely in pan on rack before cutting into bars.  

These taste delicious room temperature or chilled…if your kitchen is as warm as mine, I’d recommend keeping them in the fridge.

Enjoy!

7 Responses to “When life gives you lemons, make Lemon Bars”

  1. raych July 13, 2011 at 5:47 pm #

    I could eat lemon bars all the live-long day.

  2. Sharon July 13, 2011 at 10:25 pm #

    Looks yummy!!! Please do post the peanut butter granola bars though!!! I looked thru this website to look for the other granola bar recipe you posted ages ago… and couldn’t find it!!! AND would love to make some!!! THANKS for your recipes… we are enjoying them here as well!!! Made the flourless cookies… a definite plus from Mark!!!

    • hiddenponies July 14, 2011 at 4:21 am #

      That’s because I never posted a granola bar recipe ;) I posted just granola…but I will get the granola bars up soon!

  3. Emily July 14, 2011 at 1:28 am #

    they’re actually called lickety-split lemon bars. slightly less boring :)

    • hiddenponies July 14, 2011 at 4:20 am #

      You’re right, that is much more interesting, thank you :)

  4. Kelly July 18, 2011 at 6:31 pm #

    I made these on the weekend and they’re almost all gone! They remind me of lemon meringue pie, which I love, but since I’m the only who eats it I eat way too much of it. This feels less guilty than eating an entire pie.

    • hiddenponies July 18, 2011 at 6:46 pm #

      I agree, they are just like lemon meringue pie! Maybe next time I’ll have to make a meringue topping to complete the illusion :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

