Twice Faked Potatoes

19 Feb

I always have trouble with twice-baked potatoes.

Usually I am too impatient on the first bake, or decide too late in the day that I want to make them, and try to scoop potatoes out of shells that are either too hot to handle or not quite baked enough and still determined to hang on to their shell.  Either way, I’ve yet to nicely scoop out all my potato, mix it with the fixings and get it nicely back into the shell in any way that looks like something you might want to eat.  On top of that, I hate washing potatoes and don’t really like eating the skin anyways.

Sooooo…

Voila!

Twice-baked potatoes that are not ACTUALLY twice-baked! (These are not actually even ONCE-baked, hence the as-yet-unmelted cheese).

I made them in individual ramekins because it was a romantic birthday dinner for two (ooh la la), but these would be great in a large casserole too as a potluck or Thanksgiving/Christmas dish.

Simply peel potatoes and boil for 10-12 minutes, till fork tender.  Mash with a fork or potato masher and stir in chopped cooked bacon, green onion, cheese, enough butter to make a nice consistency in your quantity of potatoes (approx 1 tbsp butter  per large potato) and a couple tablespoons of sour cream.  Top potatoes with extras of all the fixings, adding the cheese in the last 10 minutes of baking.

Bake at 350 degrees for 25-30 minutes, until heated through and cheese is melted.

These can also be made ahead: boil and mash the potatoes with the fixings, then store them in the fridge until you want to bake them.

So really, they’re boiled-and-baked instead of twice-baked but I guarantee no one will ever know the difference…aside from the fact that they aren’t in their skins anymore, but who wants that wrinkly brown wrapping paper anyways?

Serve with an extra dollop of sour cream if you love it as much as I do!

We had these with this Steak au Poivre, Caesar salad and popovers, with this Skillet Cookie for dessert…I think I may make that cookie every week, it was so easy and one of the best things I have ever eaten, and was just as good reheated in the microwave today.  Dangerous business.

Back to the potatoes….throw in a little extra bacon and those could be a meal in themselves with a side salad, and I bet you wouldn’t get a single complaint!

Happy supping 🙂

7 Responses to “Twice Faked Potatoes”

  1. sarah February 19, 2011 at 4:52 pm #

    Looks delicious!

  2. Lindsey February 19, 2011 at 5:43 pm #

    wow, that skillet cookie looks deadly!! yummmm

  3. Mrs. M. also known as Nancy :) February 19, 2011 at 5:44 pm #

    That looks soooo good,althoug I like the skin and would put it right back in there :o)
    Now to inspire hubby to make it.
    hmmm, maybe next time Sarah comes up here, Sarah ?? :o)

    • sarah February 20, 2011 at 11:33 am #

      ha, if only I was half the cook Anna was! Although I am pretty good at faking baked potatoes in the microwave 🙂

      • hiddenponies February 20, 2011 at 5:32 pm #

        HA, Sarah you are a fantastic cook!!

  4. Tanya February 19, 2011 at 6:41 pm #

    “Then grab some brandy from your bedside table.” LOL. I love reading Pioneer Woman’s recipes. She makes me laugh every single time. You’re so inspiring with your cooking Anna! I feel a little guilty doing nothing special for my hubby’s birthday a couple weeks ago.

    • hiddenponies February 20, 2011 at 5:33 pm #

      I love her way of writing too, always makes me smile…I wonder if she’s as funny in person!

Leave a Reply

