How to attract a mate?

5 May

A few days ago I was driving and saw a guy driving a Dodge Ram truck with this decal across his entire back window:

Dodge the father, Ram the daughter (Alternate)Really?

I have a pretty lenient sense of humor, but really?

While I recognize that I am clearly not the target audience for this particular truck driver, I’m kind of wondering who IS.  Are there girls with low enough self-respect (or low enough literacy rates) that they will think this is adorable?  Is this guy single, or worse, popular with the ladies?  Worse yet, does he HAVE a daughter? I cringe.

Maybe this is judgmental but the girl I picture thinking this is entertainingly clever is the same one who, driving with her girlfriends, sees this and says, “Oooh, Candi, pull up beside this guy while I quickly scrawl my phone number on my chest with this lipstick!”

At least guys like this aren’t hard to read – no woman can claim she was surprised by his crude side after he hid it so well while they were dating…if only all slimeballs could be so obvious, maybe we’d have a lot fewer unhappy marriages in the world.  

This, on the other hand, while not totally appropriate and still indicating a certain type of person, is funny:

I don't get drunk, I get awesome

So there you have it.  Funny: Harmless skewing of facts.  Not funny: Any use of the word “ram” that does not refer directly to a male sheep.  

I’m glad we had this talk.  Evaluate your bumper stickers accordingly 🙂

4 Responses to “How to attract a mate?”

  1. sara May 5, 2011 at 6:27 am #

    I saw a great one the other day. This guy was driving a fancy car and on a bumper sticker it said: “Don’t be fooled by the car, my treasure is in heaven”. 🙂

  2. Justine Russo May 5, 2011 at 6:44 am #

    haha I so love your posts Anna!
    Another bumper sticker was on a lifted truck and it said “Lift your truck. Fat chicks can’t jump!” How awful is that!?! I was mortified!

  3. chelsea May 5, 2011 at 6:47 am #

    Lol, I love people. We should have like on “How I Met Your Mother” with the slap bet, except with the world, that we get three free slaps in our life time, when appropriate 🙂

  4. Fiona May 5, 2011 at 8:13 pm #

    Were you driving beside me recently? I just saw that one this week too! But Randell has a licence plate cover that says “If you can’t dodge it, ram it.” That’s an acceptable one isn’t it? 😉

Leave a Reply

