Saturday Sweets: Flourless Peanut Butter Oatmeal Cookies

2 Jul

Well, I told you I would make some more cookies so then I had to!  After going to the beach, of course – first beach trip of the season! K-fer got his first mouthful of gravelly sand, and badly wanted to go back for more…I think I’m going to be one of “those” who carts along a pack and play on the next trip 🙂

These flourless cookies started as an experiment since I wanted a filling, nutritious snack to bring to my gluten intolerant sister who just had a baby and shouldn’t have to worry about making her own snacks for quite awhile.  I didn’t have any fancy gluten free flours though, so it had to be completely flourless, which I was skeptical about, both in terms of texture and taste.

Turns out I needn’t have worried!  These hold together nicely, stay chewy the way I like, and actually taste just like a peanut butter oatmeal chocolate chip cookie should taste, so even if you don’t have to avoid flour they’re worth a try, and it doesn’t get much easier than one bowl, with all the ingredients thrown together at once!  …Although they still aren’t quite as good as my favourite Peanut Butter Oatmeal Chocolate Chip cookies.  If you need them gluten free, just double check your oats and make sure they’re gluten free…I know the No Name brand say they may contain wheat, but you can get some that list ONLY oats in the ingredients (like Quaker brand) or are actually certified gluten free.

Aren’t the polka dots cute?  I want a dress like this.  I actually have one, but wore it too many times pregnant and it no longer fits nicely non-pregnant; who woulda thought, right?

But I digress.  I always seem to do this thing where I buy peanut butter on sale like a crazy person since it is one thing I’m picky about buying brand name, and end up with several kilograms needing to be used up and going crazy on peanut butter baking, so I’m happy to have one more peanut butter recipe in the repertoire.

Thanks to our new little deep freezer we don’t have to eat all this peanut butter goodness as quickly as usual, but be forewarned, there may be a bit of peanut butter trend in upcoming recipes.  Also, because I like to throw chia seeds in all kinds of things, I added 2 tbsp to these for myself, so feel free to do the same or don’t be crazy like me, all “I can make these cookies healthy” and such.  Or DO be crazy like that but add ground flax seed.  Or spinach.  No, that would be too crazy, don’t do that.  Maybe peanuts?

Flourless Peanut Butter Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

2 1/2 cups oats

1/4 cup brown sugar

1/4 cup white sugar

1/2 cup peanut butter

1/3 cup coconut

1 tsp baking powder

2 eggs

4 tbsp butter, softened

1 tsp vanilla

1/2 cup chocolate chips

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Combine all ingredients except chocolate chips and blend thoroughly.  Stir in chocolate chips.  Drop onto baking sheet about 1″ apart (they don’t spread much while baking), and bake 12-15 minutes.  Let sit on cookie sheet for a couple minutes before transferring to racks to cool completely.  Makes about 2 dozen cookies.

Recipe loosely adapted from Carrots ‘n’ Cake.

3 Responses to “Saturday Sweets: Flourless Peanut Butter Oatmeal Cookies”

  1. hiddenponies July 2, 2011 at 7:47 pm #

    anna these are so delicious! i am going through them at a rapid rate… excited to have the recipe now so I can make more… yumm 🙂 thank you for making them for me! 🙂

  2. hiddenponies July 7, 2011 at 2:04 pm #

    Haha, I was confused when you showed up as my user name…we are like one person 🙂

  3. Kim July 14, 2011 at 10:35 am #

    These are yummy 🙂

Leave a Reply

