Lemon Rhubarb Streusel Scones

22 Jul

Yumyumyum. This was one of the best ideas I’ve ever had.  I threw together a variety of recipe ideas/measurements/ oven temperatures with a few ideas of my own based on what was in the fridge and hoped for the best. I should really do that more often if it’s going to work out like this.  Of course, I know it can’t always work out as beautifully as this, so I should really quit while I’m ahead.  Because I feel very, very much ahead after this.

All I knew going in was that I wanted a sweet scone with a streusel topping since I love streusel toppings almost as much as I love my children.  And I had rhubarb in my fridge that needed using.  And on the back of that wildly delicious Raspberry Lemon Cake I couldn’t wait to use some more lemon zest.  

These would be so perfect with tea or coffee, if you’re into that kind of thing, and they make a perfect breakfast, lunch, or snack.  They are low fat and low sugar and still deliciously sweet and soft with a perfect crunch in the topping, which is then further topped with a little icing glaze.  To top all that off, they’re super easy and can be made with whatever fruit you have in the house!  Blueberries or strawberries would be fantastic with the lemon zest, but really, so would cranberries, or raspberries, or even dried fruit!  I love flexible recipes. And I love these scones.

Carl, after being talked into trying one, declared them a “flavour sensation” and considered them worthy of afternoon tea and evening snacking, a category usually reserved for ice cream and chocolate.  These are one of those recipes I’ll be making again as soon as I run out, and possibly before.  While I don’t munch rhubarb stalks like celery the way my mom does, I sure am enjoying experimenting with it this summer and can’t wait ’til Sunday now that I know even more fresh rhubarb is finding it’s way into my church mailbox – you know who you are, lovely rhubarb gifter, and you are awesome!!  Maybe some scones will have to find their way into your mailbox 😉

Lemon Rhubarb Streusel Scones

Scones:

1 1/2 cups all purpose flour

1/2 cup whole wheat flour (or all purpose)

4 Tbsp brown sugar

2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

1/4 cup cold butter or margarine, cubed

1 cup chopped rhubarb

1 tsp lemon zest

1 cup (250 mL) low-fat sour cream

1 beaten egg yolk

Streusel:

1/4 cup quick cooking oats

1/4 cup packed brown sugar

1 Tbsp butter or margarine, melted

1 Tbsp all purpose flour

Glaze:

1/2 cup icing sugar

1/4 tsp vanilla

2 tsp milk

Directions:

Preheat oven to 425 degrees.

For scones, in large mixing bowl, stir together flour, brown sugar, baking powder, baking soda and salt. Cut in butter (with pastry blender or your hands) until mixture resembles coarse crumbs.  Toss rhubarb and lemon zest with flour mixture.

Whisk together egg yolk and sour cream, make a well in the center of dry ingredients and add sour cream and egg all at once.  Stir with a fork until combined (dough may seem dry).  Turn onto a lightly floured surface and knead gently about 10 times, until fairly smooth.  Pat dough into a 9″ circle and transfer to parchment paper-lined baking sheet.

For streusel, combine all ingredients.  Gently pat streusel into surface of dough and cut circle into 12 wedges.  Do not separate the wedges.  Bake for 20-25 minutes, until cooked through and topping is lightly browned and crisp.

For glaze, combine all ingredients and drizzle over scones.

Unbaked scones (above): score into wedges but do not separate.  After baking (below), let scones cool slightly before drizzling with glaze and cutting into wedges.

Store scones in airtight container for 2-3 days at room temperature or in the fridge.  For best storage, freeze scones and reheat individually for 30 seconds for a fresh-tasting treat anytime.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                          Scone recipe adapted mainly from Canadian Living, streusel recipe from an old Cooking Light magazine.

3 Responses to “Lemon Rhubarb Streusel Scones”

  1. Barefeet In The Kitchen July 22, 2011 at 4:29 am #

    These look delicious. I’ve never used rhubarb, but we are going to plant it next year. I think this is going on the to-do list then. I love a lemon zest in just about anything, so this looks perfect!

  2. Mrs. M. also known as Nancy :) July 22, 2011 at 6:53 am #

    Have I ever told you that some (me) people gain weight by just looking at pictures of yummy food ??, so, stop it already :o)…..or maybe I should just quit looking? ..not !!!

  3. Tanya July 23, 2011 at 10:41 am #

    These are in the oven as I type! SO excited for them to be done baking… your recipe came at a perfect time, since I just harvested most of my rhubarb! Mmmmm… can’t wait to try one.

Leave a comment