Hazelnut Mousse

1 Aug

I’ve been a little lax in the posting department lately since things have been busy around here!  My whole family is around since a new baby joined the family and my parents are here from Ontario and also celebrating 30 years of marriage, so we’re enjoying copious amounts of far-too-rare family time!

Naturally, this means lots of fabulous food, as I come from a family of great cooks, but far too little time spent photographing said food, or using real, shareable recipes to tell you about.  But I did recently make this mousse, which was too easy and delicious (if you like Nutella) not to share.

Also, I’m up to 94 posts now (can you believe it??) so I’m pacing myself before the 100th rolls around, since big, exciting changes are in store here at hiddenponies that I can’t wait to share with you all, and we (hint!) want to have things all lined up before the big reveal, and what better occasion than the hundredth post? Keep your eyes peeled 🙂

For now, calm your suspense and gather the whole 4 ingredients you need to whip up a batch of this light, fluffy mousse!  Carl figures he will never be able to eat Nutella on toast again after enjoying it in mousse texture. I’m not so easily thrown off my breakfast chocolate, but I do think I’ll have to make this again with plain dark chocolate spread since, good as this was, I’m not as much a Nutella fanatic as some people.  And really, dark chocolate mousse can only be an improvement on pretty much anything.

Hazelnut Mousse

1/2 cup hazelnut chocolate spread, such as nutella

2 tbsp water 

1 tbsp butter, softened

3/4 cup heavy whipping cream

12 toasted hazelnuts, halved (optional)

Directions:

In heatproof bowl over saucepan of hot (not boiling) water, melt chocolate spread with 2 tbsp water until smooth; stir in butter. Keep warm. (I’m lazy and did this step in the microwave and it made no difference).
 
In separate bowl, whip cream; fold one-third into chocolate mixture. Fold in remaining cream. Divide among four small serving bowls. Cover and refrigerate for at least 3 hours. Garnish with hazelnuts if using, or a dollop of whipped cream…or a piece of toast, and call it breakfast!
Recipe barely adapted from Canadian Living.

4 Responses to “Hazelnut Mousse”

  1. Mrs. M. also known as Nancy :) August 2, 2011 at 7:00 am #

    That looks sooooo good :o)

  2. Barefeet In The Kitchen August 2, 2011 at 10:07 am #

    This sounds delicious! Would you believe I still haven’t tried Nutella? I’m 150% certain I’d adore it, hence the reason it has not entered my home yet.

    • hiddenponies August 2, 2011 at 6:20 pm #

      Haha, I’m sure you would like it…you’ll have to just buy a small container, then after you make the mousse there’s just a little bit left for breakfast 🙂

  3. Kim Bee August 6, 2011 at 9:48 am #

    This looks delicious.

Leave a comment